clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nets open Summer League in Las Vegas a week from Monday vs. Grizzlies

2021 NBA Playoffs - Brooklyn Nets v Milwaukee Bucks

The NBA announced the official schedule for all 30 teams for the upcoming Summer League, which will run from Aug. 8-17 at Thomas & Mack Center and Cox Pavillion on the campus of the University of Nevada in Vegas. The Nets will open their five game schedule on August 9, a week from Monday.

Here’s the schedule, including who will be televising the games...

Aug. 9 vs. Memphis — 5:00 PM ET on ESPN2 — Cox Pavillion

Aug. 11 vs. Milwaukee — 4:00 PM ET on ESPN2 — Thomas & Mack Center

Aug. 12 vs. Washington — 5:00 PM ET on ESPN U — Cox Pavillion

Aug. 15 vs. San Antonio — 6:00 PM ET on NBA TV — Thomas & Mack Center

Although the Nets Summer League roster won’t be finalized until days after Thursday’s NBA Draft, it’s been reliably reported that Nicolas Claxton, Reggie Perry and Alize Johnson from the Brooklyn roster as well as Jordan Bowden and Paul Eboua from the Long Island Nets will play in Vegas ... along with whoever the Nets may draft. They currently have four picks in Thursday’s Draft. In addition, the Nets French stash Isaia Cordinier, who played in Vegas two years ago, has told NetsDaily’s Alec Sturm that he’d be interested in returning to Las Vegas.

Jordan Ott, who has spent the last five seasons as an assistant with Brooklyn, will coach the Nets in the Summer League, according to sources. Ott will be assisted by Tiago Splitter, who has been a player development coach with the Nets for two seasons. Jose Neto, the head coach of Petro de Luanda in the Angolan Basketball League Basketball Africa League and the Brazil National basketball team, will also serve as an assistant. Neto has won several domestic league championships in Brazil and Angola, an African hoops hotbed. He’s also coached in Japan.

Summer League Format

All 30 NBA teams will play a total of five games in the Summer League. After each team plays four games, the two teams that boast the best records from the first four contests will face off in the Championship Game — Tuesday, Aug. 17 at 9:00 PM ET. The Championship Game will be televised on ESPN. Meanwhile, the other teams (28 teams) will play the fifth game on Aug. 16 or Aug. 17. Fans will also be in attendance.

If a tie occurs, the tiebreaker criteria to determine the Championship Game is listed below.

Head-to-head matchup: The team that won the game between the two teams in the preliminary round will be awarded the higher seed.

Random Drawing: The higher seed will be determined by a coin flip.

Point Differential: Team with the greater point differential will be awarded the higher seed.