clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nets to play in Orlando Pro Summer League: Complete schedule and rules


The Brooklyn Nets will be playing in the Orlando Pro Summer League in, yes, Orlando, Florida. The event runs from July 7-12 and will consist of 10 teams, playing 26 games in total.

Participants include: Brooklyn Nets, Orlando Magic, Oklahoma City Thunder, Utah Jazz, Indiana Pacers, Mimai Heat, Detroit Pistons, Boston Celtics, Houston Rockets and Philadelphia 76ers.

The schedule and rules are as follows:

Southwest Airlines Orlando Pro Summer League Schedule

Sunday, July 7, 2013 Visitor Home

1st game 9:00 a.m. Houston @ Philadelphia

2nd game 11:00 a.m. Boston @ Orlando

3rd game 1:00 p.m. Miami @ Utah

4th game 3:00 p.m. OKC @ Indiana

5th game 5:00 p.m. Detroit @ Brooklyn

Monday, July 8, 2013

1st game 11:00 a.m. OKC @ Orlando

2nd game 1:00 p.m. Philadelphia @ Indiana

3rd game 3:00 p.m. Boston @ Detroit

4th game 5:00 p.m. Brooklyn @ Miami

Tuesday, July 9, 2013

1st game 11:00 a.m. Indiana @ Boston

2nd game 1:00 p.m. Detroit @ OKC

3rd game 3:00 p.m. Utah @ Houston

4th game 5:00 p.m. Miami @ Orlando

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

1st game 11:00 a.m. Utah @ Brooklyn

2nd game 1:00 p.m. OKC @ Philadelphia

3rd game 3:00 p.m. Boston @ Houston

Thursday, July 11, 2013

1st game 11:00 a.m. Indiana @ Utah

2nd game 1:00 p.m. Miami @ Detroit

3rd game 3:00 p.m. Houston @ Brooklyn

4th game 5:00 p.m. Philadelphia @ Orlando

Friday, July 12, 2013 *Championship Day*

1st game 8:00 a.m. 6th place @ 5th place

2nd game 10:00 a.m. 4th place @ 3rd place

3rd game 12:00 p.m. 2nd place @ 1st place

4th game 2:00 p.m. 8th place @ 7th place

5th game 4:00 p.m. 10th place @ 9th place



· Four 10-minute quarters

· 10-minute halftime

· Five full timeouts per team per game

· Two one-minute mandatory TV timeouts per quarter on dead ball at 5:59 and again at 2:59

· Maximum of three full timeouts to be used in 4th quarter per team

· One :20 second timeout per team per half

· Three-minute overtime period if necessary

· One full timeout and one :20 second per overtime period per team

· Teams will be in the penalty on the 5th team foul of each quarter

· Teams will be in the penalty in overtime on the 3rd team foul

· No foul-out rule – for each personal foul in excess of six, the opposing team receives two free throws. For each personal foul in excess of 10, the opposing team receives two free throws and the ball.

· 10-minute warm-up/intermission between games


· Each team will play five games over the six-day event

· New to this year’s event will be a Championship Day on the sixth day of the league

· Standings will be kept over the first five days of the league according to a point system (described below)

· Every team will play their fifth and final game against the opponent seeded most closely to them in the standings

-For example, the two teams with the highest point totals will play in the Championship game; the teams with the third and fourth-highest point totals play in a third place game, etc.


· Standings over the first five days of the league will be kept using a SEVEN POINT SYSTEM (similar to the old CBA). In this system, seven points are awarded each game and distributed as follows:

-three points for winning the game

-one point for every quarter a team wins (in the event of a tied quarter, both teams will receive 0.5 points)

· As a result, the winning team in each game can collect between four to seven points, while the losing team can collect from zero to three points.


· Day six Championship seeding will be determined by a team’s total points in the league standings

· In the event of a tie, the following tie-breaker steps will be in place:

Tiebreaker 1: Total point differential

Tiebreaker 2: Total points allowed

Tiebreaker 3: Coin flip