clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D-Will Up for Sportsmanship Award

Deron Williams, whose Point of Hope Foundation is among the NBA's most generous, is one of six nominees for the league's Joe Dumars Award. Williams, Charlotte’s D.J. Augustin, Chicago’s Luol Deng, Golden State’s Stephen Curry, Portland’s LaMarcus Aldridge and San Antonio’s George Hill were selected by a four-member panel of former players as divisional winners for the 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award.

The NBA Sportsmanship Award, designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court, is voted on by NBA players.  The NBA will announce the winner after the regular season. Sportsmanship is defined as ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league’s NBA Cares program efforts.